<aside> 🌍 Traveler, as you step into the vast world of Genshin Impact, you'll find endless stories, ancient ruins, and mysterious gods hidden underneath every corner of the game. As you start reading artifact descriptions, picking up books, and digging through the archives of Teyvat and its ancient civilizations... how do you make sense of it all?

This Beginner's Guide is here to solve that, piecing together the lore of Genshin Impact in an accessible primer.


<aside> ⚠️ This is an introduction to the lore of Genshin Impact, not a gameplay guide. There will be spoilers for the entire game + official media. No leaks or datamines are covered here.



<aside> 💡 In Genshin Impact, you play as a Traveler from another world who has been separated from your twin – right as you tried to leave this world. After fishing up Paimon on a beach near the city of Mondstadt, you're now off on an adventure across the continent of Teyvat ruled by 'The Seven', slowly regaining your former power by resonating with the elements channeled by these seven gods as you pursue your sibling.

In your travels, you discover that a cataclysm shook this world 500 years ago, a deep and dark abyss in the depths below from an ancient civilization long gone, and that a plot is brewing to rebel against the gods.



<aside> 1️⃣ Introduction Primer on the opening, regions, visions, and the factions at play


<aside> 2️⃣ Archon Quest Summary The main storyline of the game (so far)


<aside> 3️⃣ Lore Introductions The Gnostic Chorus, Celestia, the History of Teyvat, the Abyss


<aside> 4️⃣ Further Reading Recommended fan theories, artifact sets, in-game books


Who is this guide is for?

About Khaenri'ah.com

Khaenri'ah is a fansite & community dedicated to exploring Teyvat's lore, people, and histories. We publish & archive theories, connecting the lore of Genshin Impact. 💭

We hope this guide helps make the incredible lore of Genshin more accessible to you! Join us on Discord, follow us on Twitter, or explore the rest of our site.


Table of Contents


Opening Cutscene


Gods and the Seven


Constellations & the Stars

Teyvat and its Regions

Starter Characters (Amber, Kaeya, Lisa)

The Main Factions

Archon Quests

Prologue: The Outlander Who Caught the Wind

Act I: Farewell, Archaic Lord

We Will Be Reunited

Act II: Omnipresence Over Mortals

Upcoming Chapters (Travails)


Lore Intros


All About Visions


The Abyss

Decarabian & Old Mondstadt

Ley Lines & the Ancient Tree

The Eleven Harbingers

Albedo, the Art of Khemia, & Rhinedottir

Further Reading

Feedback Form

Lore Library